|How much does a business license cost?|
|Can I get a sign for my business?|
|Do I need a license to work from home?|
|Do I need a permit for a yard/garage sale?|
|Can I put up a sign to advertise a yard/garage sale?|
|How do I transfer my business to a new owner?|
|Where are fire extinguishers placed in a commercial building?|
|How can I get my business’ fire extinguisher serviced?|
|What can I expect when the Fire Department conducts a fire inspection in my place of business?|
|Do I need a license to operate a business out of my home?|
How much does a business license cost?Please see attached PDF file for current fees.
Can I get a sign for my business?
All legally established businesses within the City of Montclair (except in residential areas) are entitled to at least one business identification sign. Permits are required from the Planning and Building Divisions. Signs must be designed to comply with the City's Sign Ordinance and with current City policies. It is recommended that business owners hire a licensed sign contractor to design and erect signs. All signs are subject to review and approval by the Planning Division prior to construction and installation.
Do I need a license to work from home?Yes. In addition, a home occupation permit is required. Permits can be acquired through the business license department at a one time cost of $64.00. There are conditions to operating a business from your home.
Do I need a permit for a yard/garage sale?Yes. Yard sale permits are available for purchase at the Community Development counter at Montclair City Hall, 5111 Benito Street, Monday through Thursday, between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. The cost is $10.00. Yard sales are allowed only on the first full weekend (Friday, Saturday, Sunday) in the months of February, May, August, and November.
Can I put up a sign to advertise a yard/garage sale?When a yard sale permit is obtained at City Hall, two signs will be provided to you that may be displayed subject to specific criteria. Two additional signs may be purchased at a nominal cost. Directional signs placed in violation of the City's guidelines will be removed and the violator may be subject to citation and fine.
How do I transfer my business to a new owner?Business licenses are not transferable. The new owner will need to submit new applications and the applicable fee.
Where are fire extinguishers placed in a commercial building?According to The California Fire Code, regulating fire extinguisher requirements varies with the different types of hazard classification of the building. A general rule for a commercial building, with no special hazard classification, is an extinguisher with a 2A:10BC rating placed within 75 feet travel distance to all areas.
How can I get my business’ fire extinguisher serviced?Businesses may contact a fire extinguisher maintenance company to make arrangements for servicing. The Fire Department does not recommend any single vendor and encourages price comparisons for like services.
What can I expect when the Fire Department conducts a fire inspection in my place of business?The Montclair Fire Department conducts fire and life safety inspections at each business within the City on either an annual or bi-ennial (every other year) basis. Generally, firefighters will inspect all public and private areas to insure the business meets the requirements of the California Fire Code. Fire protection and life safety items commonly inspected include automatic fire sprinkler and fire alarm systems, portable fire extinguishers, and heating and electrical systems and appliances. Additionally, exit doors and exit lighting will be tested. Finally, other hazards such as chemicals, flammable liquids, and improper fire loading of stock or merchandize will be examined.
Should a violation exist, a Notice of Violation will be issued. The business owner or responsible party is given a time frame in which to correct the violation. Generally, all violations should be corrected within two weeks from the date of initial inspection. However, violations of a more serious nature may be given a lesser time frame to be corrected. Should additional time be required to correct the violation, you may contact the Fire Marshal’s Office and request an extension.
Please call (909) 626-1217 should you have any questions or to request an extension.
Do I need a license to operate a business out of my home?Residents operating home businesses are required to obtain a Home Occupation Permit. Forms are available from the Business License counter in the main lobby of City Hall during regular business hours. Home-based businesses are typically limited to office uses that do not involve customers visiting the property. For more specific information about permissible home-based businesses, please contact the Planning Division at (909) 625-9430.